RSS

Wandering Thoughts

03 Sep

Stonehell Dungeon: Let’s get the most important thing out of the way first; Over on Facebook Michael Curtis has been teasing Stonehell Dungeon 2! I cannot tell you how excited I am about this! Curtis has been very busy and he never did give a date for when he’d release the rest of Stonehell, so I’ve been waiting (mostly) patiently for him to get around to it. But today he posted pictures of the index and table of contents. I love megadungeons and of all the ones I own I like Stonehell the best. This is great news.

Mekton Zero: On the other end of the spectrum, there still doesn’t appear to be any movement on the Mekton Zero Kickstarter. I love R. Talsorian games and I love Mekton. Mekton Zeta is a fantastic game. Further, I have never had anything but great customer service from R. Talsorian.

Until now. Over a year late and almost no official updates have been put out since 2014. To get information we’ve had to wait and get it through the Comments or Facebook pages from a long-suffering Talsorian insider, who tried his best but also seemed mostly in the dark about the status. Now even he has bailed from being the project’s voice.

My deep reserves of goodwill have run dry. I still love R. Talsorian’s existing library, but I won’t back any further projects they use Kickstarter for. Further, I hate to say it, but I no longer trust what they have to say. I know they’re a small outfit, but there’s no excuse for cutting off official lines of communication like this. We shouldn’t have to glean scraps of dubious information from unofficial sources.

One Bookshelf: I usually don’t comment on the drama, but this one just annoys me. A jackhole abuses the system One Bookshelf has had in place for the benefit of their publishers. The company’s initial response to people upset about the product is poor. They come back with a reasonable response and an Objectionable Content policy that looks pretty good to me. Now other people are angry over what this might mean and what One Bookshelf might do in the future. *sigh* Everyone go roll some dice, the show is already over.

Sales!: Speaking of such things, there are a few notable sales going on. Over at Drive Thru RPG/RPG Now they have a sale on a number of good Savage World products. I recommend Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition, which is a whopping 40% off. These deals are good until 9/15/2015.

Meanwhile, over on Warehouse 23, they have a 25% off sale on all products by Ken Hite and/or Robin Laws. This sale goes until 9/9/2015.

thoughteater

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 3, 2015 in Gaming

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
