RSS

Various and Sundry

30 Jun

A few quick notes:

  • Sad news. The excellent Cincinnati gaming store Yottaquest, which I only recently discovered, has announced that they are closing at the end of the summer. Not for any financial reasons, but because the owners are moving on to do other things. I wish them well, but with sadness. Gaming stores of such quality have become all too rare.
  • I got a sweet deal on a copy of the now out-of-print game Starblazer Adventures. I’m a sucker for sci-fi games and I love the art style that I’ve seen on every sample of Starblazer Adventures. I’ve also been curious about the Fate system going all the way back to the early Fudge days, but have never gotten around to checking it out. Now I’m faced with a new problem; my bucket list of games is already too long and now Starblazer Adventures has blasted its way onto the list. This is made worse because Fate looks like it may be the system I’ve been looking for to run a playable Lensmen or Doctor Who game.
  • While going through some old boxes I found my boxed set of the original Twilight: 2000. I picked this up when it first came out, though we never got around to playing it. In recent years I’ve been thinking about getting together with some other Cold War raised Gen-Xers to play it, but not knowing where my books were kept it way in the back of my mind. Now that I’ve uncovered my books it’s moved from idle musing to something I could actually do. Clearly I need a bigger bucket.
  • Thanks to my library system I have been reading Flash Gordon on the Planet Mongo, the first volume of the complete Flash Gordon library. These are lovingly restored prints of the Sunday Flash Gordon comic strip by Alex Raymond. This book is fantastic and I have devoured it. Three volumes have been published with a fourth on the way and I’ve decided that they need to be added to my personal library. I highly recommend any fans of pulp sci-fi to seek these books out and pick them up.

 

photoImage from the West End Games Star Wars RPG.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2015 in Cool Stuff, Gaming, Science Fiction

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Various and Sundry

  1. mikemonaco

    June 30, 2015 at 11:24 AM

    Dagnabbit, I am going to Cincinnati in October and was going to check Yottaquest out. I guess I can still see the Boardwalk Hobby Shop and The Dust Jacket.
    Any other recommendations for the area?

     
    • Fractalbat

      June 30, 2015 at 2:02 PM

      There’s a store called “Gateway Games and More” on the south-east side of Cincinnati. I’ve never been there, but I hear really good things about it. Especially for OSR gaming. One of the hosts on Spellburn, the Dungeon Crawl Classics podcast, games there regularly.

      I’ve been meaning to make a trip down there, but I live in Oxford and that’s a far piece.

      Most of the good stores I know are in the Dayton area now. In that area you have Epic Loot and Bell, Book, and Comic. Depending on where you are in Cincinnati they’ll be about an hour away.

      But if you don’t mind going a little farther up, Fairborn, OH has the Bookery comic shop and Bookery: Fantasy gaming shop. Plus the town has a number of costume shops and every October they turn Halloween into a month-long celebration.

       

Leave a Reply

 
