RSS

Ye Olde Gaming Shoppes

01 Mar

Greetings Programs,

Life has been quite hectic recently, which has left less time for blogging and a lot less time for gaming. So posting will continue being less consistent than normal (as if it was ever consistent). However, even though I haven’t been gaming I have had the opportunity to hit some really good stores.

First on the list is Yottaquest. Located on the north side of Cincinnati this is a store I’ve known about for a while but just visited for the first time. It’s a good sized store with a friendly staff who were happy to talk. The front of the store is dominated by Warhammer and similar miniatures displays, as well as popular gateway board and card games. Moving deeper you’ll find a wide variety of offerings to suit whatever geekish tastes you prefer, and in good quantities. Role playing games of all types are represented, including a decent selection of Dungeon Crawl Classics products. Board and war games fill several shelves and there is a generous selection of comics and manga. I am particularly delighted that they sell used and out-of-print games, just the thing to warm my OSR heart. I am impressed by how the store manages to embrace current gaming store trends while keeping an old school game store feeling. Yottaquest is definitely on my “to visit” list for future trips.

Next on my list was re-visiting two of my old haunts. One of Cincinnati’s small communities is Mt. Lookout, which boasts a nice collection of locally owned restaurants and shops. I used to make regular trips down to Mt. Lookout to grab a burger at Zip’s Cafe and hit the stores, but it’s been a good ten years since I’ve last been there. When I found myself in the area with some time on my hands I jumped at the chance to drop by, with two stores in particular as my goal.

Boardwalk Hobby Shop is a nice store with its own distinctive style. The biggest draw at Boardwalk is modeling and there are kits of every type available, as well as all the paints and tools you could want. They don’t carry any miniature gaming figures but they have a better selection of paints and brushes than most stores that are dominated by Warhammer. Aside from the models they also have a good selection of board games, ranging from classic and family games to more “gamer” oriented fare. Boardwalk also offers a section of puzzles, including a better selection of 3D puzzles than I’ve seen in a long time.

Unfortunately for me, since my last visit they have moved away from carrying role playing games. They only offer a small number of 5th Edition D&D books where once two aisles were filled by D&D, GURPS, and Chaosium titles. But if you are looking for a board game, model, or painting supplies, Boardwalk is a good place to visit.

Last is the jewel in the crown, the place I most wanted to visit again, that store which makes my wallet tremble in fear. The Dust Jacket.

The Dust Jacket is not a gaming store, it’s a rare book store. The first thing you see when you walk in are shelves filled with leather bound tomes, set collections, and 1st edition books. Moving deeper you’ll find an impressive collection of books on all subjects. Their world and military history sections are particularly good. This place is a treasure vault for bookworms that goes beyond a simple used bookstore. You’ll find books on World War One written in the 1920’s, poetry books from the 19th century, novels that have never been reprinted, and more.

If we lived in a Call of Cthulhu world this store would either be our last hope or the place where the end of humanity begins.

If I have any nits to pick with The Dust Jacket, it’s that their science fiction section is unimpressive. However the wonderful selection of history books more than makes up for it.

Often when you revisit an old favorite store you find that things have changed or that they aren’t as good as you remembered. In the case of The Dust Jacket, I swear the store is even better than I remembered. I will not let another decade go by without returning, no matter how much my wallet begs me to do otherwise.

Agent13small

My Favorite Yottaquest Acquisition!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 1, 2015 in Cool Stuff, Gaming, Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Ye Olde Gaming Shoppes

Leave a Reply

 
