RSS

Isometric Mapping Thoughts

10 Jan

I posted this on the G+ OSR community as well.

Question on mapping. I’ve been looking at some wonderful examples of isometric maps.

Aesthetically I like them, but here’s my question. Do they have any effect from the player’s point of view? Would players realize that a map was done isometrically if the DM doesn’t tell them? Maybe it helps the DM express changes in height better, but otherwise I’m not sure.

This isn’t a knock on the design choice, I love them. Wish I could draw them better. I’m just wondering because I’ve always looked at them from the DM’s point of view and never thought about how they do or don’t change things on the other side of the screen.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
