RSS

Wandering Thoughts Table – November Projects

06 Nov

1. Technical Difficulties – I have had several friends do NaNoWriMo over the years. I have not and won’t be this year, but I do feel like I need a project.

And, more importantly, a deadline. This Bat does a poor job of finishing things without a deadline.

To that end, I’ve decided my goal is to finally get my scanner figured out and get some of my maps into digital form. Maybe actually start putting together a couple adventures for download, possibly making my own contribution to the One Page Dungeon format I discussed in my previous post. We’ll see, but figuring out how to scan and clean the maps up to my satisfaction is the first step.

2. Nose in a Book – Another thing I want to do is to get some post ideas off the back burner and onto the blog. To do that I need to get some more reading done, not a task I’m averse to doing but I need to organize my time better. Fortunately this month looks to be a lot slower than previous ones and I should have more time. Also we have a family vacation coming up and I always catch up on a lot of reading on this trip.

3. Facetime – My G+ gaming has been going well this year and that’s been great, but our group’s face-to-face games have been few and far between. I would love to get a game in this month. I’m not too picky about what, but I’m leaning towards another Top Secret S/I game. For this the family vacation is working against me, so we’ll see what happens.

4. Construction Ahead – One other gaming related thing, after the success of running Car Wars with Matchbox cars and a papercraft city, I’ve decided to pull out another old game and see what I can do with it. This is a western gunfighter skirmish game called Desperado. I have a bunch of western-themed lead minis, but none are painted. However I also have some good paper minis from Okumarts Games that will print out nicely on card stock. I just need to find some suitable buildings. Unfortunately Fat Dragon doesn’t have anything in a western theme. I do have some old Microtactix sets from way back, their Vulture Gulch series. They’re pretty cool, but in black-and-white. Not the end of the world and I’m sure I can color them in if I really want to. I also have some flat floorplans that might suffice.

So those are my ambitions for November. Any gaming projects you’re working on?

thoughteater

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2014 in Blog News

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
