RSS

Table Games

22 Aug

It’s looking to be a good week for tabletop gaming.

Last night we had a family game of Zombies!!!. We have several expansions for the game, so we use the optional rule of shuffling the helipad into the deck instead of putting it on the bottom. When it came up in round two it looked like we were about to have the shortest game of Zombies!!! ever. This was unsatisfying, so after a unanimous decision we shuffled the helipad back into the deck.

Play proceeded from there and the city grew, but options for new tiles dwindled. We had only one non-(un)dead end left when salvation! We found the gates to the military base! This gave us hope that we wouldn’t end up locked in a closed off city trying to kill all the zombies. Unfortunately the military base also ended up closed off without a helipad showing up. This is the first time I’ve played Zombies!!! where no escape from the city appeared.

Apparently karma was upset for us throwing away our earlier rescue.

Another unanimous decision later and the last military base tile was replaced with the helipad. Also, as it was a school night and the game was going long, we decided to eschew competition and turned it into a co-op game, working together to reach the helicopter. This turned out to be quite fun and the twist breathed fresh energy into my kids. It also avoided a sibling rivalry that had been brewing between them, making it a win on multiple fronts.

Tomorrow I’m having a number of friends over for a big gaming day. I don’t get to do this very often, so sometime around my birthday I like to blow it out and get a whole bunch of people over to sling dice, cards, and whatever else we can get to the tables. There are three games in particular that I’m looking forward to. The first is Grisleigh End, this is the board game I’ve been helping develop with friends and will hopefully see production. As you can imagine I’m rather fond of it and looking forward to showing it to my friends.

The second is Car Wars. I’ve got things prepped to run a game using Matchbox cars and a 3D city layout, which I’ve always wanted to do. There will be pictures.

The third is Sentinels Tactics, the miniatures game from the Sentinels of the Multiverse line. I expected to receive it in December, but it shipped early so I guess I’ll just have to play it early.

Oh darn. However will I endure?

Then Sunday we’re going to demo Grisleigh End for a local Steampunk society, which should be a heck of a lot of fun.

Game on!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2014 in Gaming

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
