RSS

Handy Notepad

07 Jul

*Update* See below for corrections

I’ve been wanting to do more mapping lately. Specifically dungeon maps.

To do this I wanted to find a notepad that was more portable than my trusty 8.5″ x 11″ graph pad. Something I could toss into my laptop bag or a jacket pocket. I found a few promising candidates online, but nothing I wanted to pay shipping on. Having tried several art and office supply locations I’d just about given up hope.

Then while going through Wal-Mart I came across the perfect solution.

A company called Blue Sky produces a line called ProNotes that could have been custom designed for gamers. The books are 5.5″ x 8.5″, comfortably fitting into the cargo pocket on my jeans and the spiral binding lets me clip in my pencil. The notebook is designed for mapping out projects, so when you open up the left hand page has a 12 x 22 graph while the right hand page has a ruled section for notes. You could practically market these to the OSR community as One Page Dungeon planners.

You can order them directly from Blue Sky’s website, the product page is here and the cost is $7.99 per booklet. Refills are listed as available through various retailers but I do not see them on the Blue Sky website. The notebooks I picked up at Wal-Mart were about half the price. I’m not sure if they were on sale or priced at the refill rate, but I snapped up the only two they had.

If you are looking for a portable dungeon sketchbook, keep your eyes peeled for these.

*Corrections* I stopped at another Wal-Mart and discovered a few things I had wrong. The pads I picked up are 4″ x 6″ and under the “Notes” line instead of “ProNotes”. This line doesn’t appear on Blue Sky’s web site. I found them on the shelf in the same section as the regular pads of paper and they retail for under $5.

Notepad1

It would be fantastic if we could get these branded for Labyrinth Lord or Dungeon Crawl Classics!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2014 in Cool Stuff, Dungeon Design, Gaming, Maps

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Handy Notepad

  1. Edwin Nagy

    July 7, 2014 at 7:57 PM

    These seem to be advertised (but not available) through WalMart.com as Blue Sky Fashion Notes in both sizes. In-store only, no prices given.

     
  2. Brett

    August 8, 2014 at 3:02 PM

    I found the 5.5×8.5 ProNotes refills at the OfficeMax website for $3.99. The full notebook is $8.99.

     

Leave a Reply

 
