RSS

Okay 5th Edition, Now You Have My Attention

20 May

A while back I talked about the suspected pricing for 5th Edition Dungeons & Dragons and my disappointment over it.

Pricing appeared to be about $50 per core book, meaning buy in would be $150.

“I’m not going to say that they are wrong to use this price point, in fact I anticipate they’ll do fine. I hope the game becomes popular because I firmly believe that what is good for D&D is good for the industry. I hope D&D 5th Edition becomes very successful.

It’s just going to do it without me.”

Now that the Internet is awash with the official release dates and pricing information, the cost of the core books has been confirmed. My opinion has not changed, I have too much invested in other games and there are too many other interesting games available at a fraction of the cost. I have no interest in dropping the coin to buy the core D&D books, though I do still wish the game every success. I’m aware that they say you can play the game with only the Players’ Handbook, but let’s be real. I’m either buying the big three or none at all.

However, then I saw this:

“The Dungeons & Dragons Starter Set is your gateway to action-packed stories of the imagination. This box contains the essential rules of the game plus everything you need to play heroic characters on perilous adventures in worlds of fantasy.

Ideal for a group of 4 – 6, the Dungeons & Dragons Starter Set includes a 64-page adventure book with everything the Dungeon Master needs to get started, a 32-page rulebook for playing characters level 1 – 5, 5 pregenerated characters, each with a character sheet and supporting reference material, and 6 dice.”

-Write-up for Dungeons & Dragons Starter Set

A box set, complete rules, support up to level five, and a set of dice? The nostalgia is strong with this one. The cover art even evokes Elmore’s cover on the classic Red Box.

I would not be disappointed if the dice are blue and come with a white crayon.

But here’s the part that made me take notice. Suggested retail price: $19.99.

Wizards of the Coast, you have gained my attention.

All the books are available for pre-order at a decent discount, but see if you can get the same deal from your Friendly Local Game Store (assuming you have one).

Dice

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 20, 2014 in Fantasy, Gaming

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
