RSS

Papa’s Maze

23 Jan

Via Purple Pawn I came across this story of a girl who discovered an amazing hand-drawn maze her father had done.

“When pressed for details, the father explained that he spent 7 years creating the map on A1 size paper, which is about 33 x 23 inches.”

The maze is huge and intricate, not a map in the Dungeons & Dragons sense, there are no embellishments or story about it.  At least, none we’re aware of.  It’s a straight-forward maze on a grand scale.  I have always loved mazes, long before I even knew what Dungeons & Dragons was I loved them.  And I still do.

Furthermore, now that I am a parent, and having lost both of my own parents quite some time ago, the story behind this maze hits an emotional chord.  I love hearing about people who have a passion for unconventional things.  I love stories of children and parents learning about those passions in unexpected ways.  People fascinate me, everyone has a story to tell, and there are interesting tales in the lives of others just waiting for us to find them.  

In turn, there are interesting tales in our own lives that others may one day stumble across.  Things they will appreciate in ways we may not, being too close to them to have the right perspective.

Prints of the maze are available from the site for $40 each and I may have to get one for my wall.  

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2014 in Cool Stuff, Maps

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Papa’s Maze

  1. 2W2N

    January 24, 2014 at 7:03 PM

    Incredible. I can’t even imagine the patience and skill required for such an undertaking. It reminds me of Larry Evans, who drew many elaborate maze books for Troubador and other publishers. I’m looking for one in particular called “City of Tomorrow: The Largest 3Dimensional Maze in the Universe”. The only photo I can find is here:

    http://www.cubicdissection.com/market/auction_details.php?auction_id=102896

     
    • Fractalbat

      January 24, 2014 at 8:28 PM

      That’s an amazing piece of work too! So cool.

       
  2. Red Hobbit

    January 26, 2014 at 5:04 PM

    My goodness, I can’t imagine where to even begin creating that fascinating piece of art.

     
    • Fractalbat

      January 26, 2014 at 9:23 PM

      I know what you mean. It might just be the gamer in me, but I have to think that he made up interesting stories about the maze.

       

Leave a Reply

 
