RSS

Favorite Immortal or Outsider

18 Sep

Day 18 of the 30 Day D&D Challenge.

Today’s question:

18. What is your Favorite Immortal?

“I am Connor MacLeod of the Clan MacLeod. I was born in 1518 in the village of Glenfinnan on the shores of Loch Shiel. And I am immortal.”

Running back to the outer planes, I’m going to go with the demon lord Orcus.

With his goat-like appearance, his rod of death, and claiming dominion over all undead, Orcus is an outstanding combination of classic demon imagery and fantasy notions.  His massive size and bloated form further combines power with decadence, as befits a demon.  I’m not sure why later editions began drawing Orcus as if he’d gotten a gym membership and a celebrity pharmacist to supply all his steroid needs.  Give me the classic Orcus any day.

Though I must admit to having one other favorite immortal.  Hey, I can’t be the only one whose gaming group kit-bashed rules for playing Highlander.

An immortal’s got to pay the bills too.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2013 in Gaming, Movies & TV

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Favorite Immortal or Outsider

  1. davidbrawley

    September 19, 2013 at 7:57 AM

    My group used rules for highlander style immortals for both D&D and Vampire.

     
  2. Fractalbat

    September 19, 2013 at 8:45 AM

    I remember there used to be a set of Vampire immortals rules floating around on Usenet that we all printed out. Good times.

    I didn’t have access to the fanzines from the 80’s, Dragon was the best resource I could get, so Usenet was my first exposure to lots of crowdsourced material. I remember all the netbooks people compiled back in those days. I had binders full of Usenet stuff, not unlike the hoard of .pdfs I have these days.

     
    • davidbrawley

      September 19, 2013 at 8:47 AM

      Fractalbat, that’s very very familiar!!

       
  3. The Rambling Roleplayer

    September 19, 2013 at 3:39 PM

    Someone in my group had rules for playing Higlander style immortals in the World of Darkness. I played one in a Werewolf campaign once. Being really good at cutting people’s heads off serves a guy pretty well when he’s fighting a vampire.

     

Leave a Reply

 
