RSS

Topics of interest

02 Sep

Hi all,

This is my descent into the madness that can be blogging.  It’s a chance for me to expound on my various interests of geek-craft.  The idea of opening my own blog started back when I discovered the Old School Renaissance of role playing games.

I’ve been a gamer since the early 80’s and since then I’ve tried all manner of games.  I’ve played various incarnations of Dungeons & Dragons, Call of Cthulhu, various White Wolf games, and my beloved GURPS, to name only a few.  And with few exceptions I’ve never been far from gaming.  My group doesn’t get together as often as we’d like, but I can’t remember going more than a few months going by without getting at least one game in.  But we’d moved pretty far from the old school games like Dungeons & Dragons.

Then I started discovering blogs where other gamers around my age were rediscovering their love of the games we started with back in the 70’s and 80’s.  Several blogs in particular were delving into the history of gaming and how different rules sets developed.  They were looking into more than just what the rules were, but why they had been written the way they were, and how they evolved.  That was fun reading.

The explosion of small indie press games, particularly those that fit the old school ideas, reawakened my interest in those games and I started dusting things off and putting them back into play.  From there I expanded to other blogs that covered wider ranges of interest such as comics, sci-fi, fantasy, and other game styles, and they kept turning me on to new treasures, or new perspectives on old interests, or just reminded me of something I used to love way back in the day.

Ultimately, that’s what I want to do here.  I want to cover a wide range of topics and maybe turn a few people onto some things they’ll find cool.  And if we get some discussions going here and I learn about a few more awesome things, so much the better!

Because we’re geeks and this is what we do.  We tell each other about cool stuff.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2013 in Gaming

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
